New Smashing Pumpkins Album To Feature 44 Songs, For Free

Billy Corgan has announced that the next Smashing Pumpkins album will consist of 44 songs. Better still, the songs will be “available absolutely free, to anyone anywhere.”
In a lengthy post on the band’s website, the Smashing Pumpkins frontman says he hopes to release the first song around Halloween of this year, with additional tracks coming shortly afterwards “until all 44 are out.” “Free will mean free,” he promises, “which means you won't have to sign up for anything, give an email address, or jump through a hoop. You will be able to go and take the song or songs as you wish, as many times as you wish.”
Titled Teargarden by Kaleidyscope, the album “is based on ‘The Fool’s Journey’ as signified in the progress of the Tarot,” writes Corgan, adding that it’s “[his intention] to approach this by breaking down the journey of our life here into four phases as made by these different characters; the Child, the Fool, the Skeptic, and the Mystic.”
Corgan goes on to say the music for the project harkens back to the Pumpkins’ original psychedelic roots: “atmospheric, melodic, heavy, and pretty.”
While the songs will be available without charge, diehard fans will have the opportunity to buy limited edition EPs consisting of four songs each. Other collectible formats and variations will be offered for sale as well, with a deluxe box set available for purchase after the rollout of songs is complete.
Corgan says recording work for the new material began on Tuesday (Sept. 15), but adds that he’s already written 53 songs for the project.